SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.10 issue2A Comparative Evaluation of four Algorithms for Numeric Solution of the Deconvolution on Unidimensional SystemsParallel Hardware/Software Architecture for the BWT and LZ77 Lossless Data Compression Algorithms author indexsubject indexsearch form
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand




Related links

  • Have no similar articlesSimilars in SciELO


Computación y Sistemas

Print version ISSN 1405-5546


DE LA ROSA VARGAS, José Ismael. Convergence of Minimum-Entropy Robust Estimators: Applications in DSP and Instrumentation. Comp. y Sist. [online]. 2006, vol.10, n.2, pp.159-171. ISSN 1405-5546.

In this paper we propose to continue in the same research line initiated by Pronzato and Thierry (Pronzato et al, 2000a), (Pronzato et al, 2000b), (Pronzato et al, 2001), recent works inspired in the minimum-entropy estimation have been published by De la Rosa and Fleury (De la Rosa et al, 2002), (De la Rosa et al, 2003) in the instrumentation framework. An statistical model has been established to represent some instrumental signals, similarly, some limited hypothesis over such a model have been made. In fact, we assume limited knowledge of the noise or external perturbations distribution that interact into the system. The use of robust estimators in such situations is very helpful, since the real systems are always exposed to continuous perturbations of unknown nature. Some applications where the last is true are: medical instrumentation, industrial processes, in telecommunications among others. Some results of new minimum-entropy estimators for linear and nonlinear models are presented, such results complement those presented by Pronzato and Thierry.

Keywords : Entropy; Monte Carlo Simulation; Nonparametric Estimation; Regression; Robust Estimation.

        · abstract in Spanish     · text in Spanish     · Spanish ( pdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License