SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.23 issue3A New flightless species of the genus Trichiorhyssemus Clouët, 1901 from Mexico (Coleoptera Aphodiidae: Psammodiinae)The Augochlora-like Dialictus from Guatemala and Southern Mexico (Hymenoptera: Halictidae) author indexsubject indexsearch form
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand




Related links

  • Have no similar articlesSimilars in SciELO


Acta zoológica mexicana

On-line version ISSN 2448-8445Print version ISSN 0065-1737


NAVARRO-FRIAS, Javier; GONZALEZ-RUIZ, Noé  and  ALVAREZ-CASTANEDA, Sergio. Los mamíferos silvestres de Milpa Alta, Distrito Federal: lista actualizada y consideraciones para su conservación. Acta Zool. Mex [online]. 2007, vol.23, n.3, pp.103-124. ISSN 2448-8445.

Field surveys and consults to mammal collections yield 45 native species of mammals for the Milpa Alta Delegation. Myotis thysanodes aztecus and Myotis volans amotus are recorded for the first time for the Federal District. Four species are included as threatened by the Mexican Government (Choeronycteris mexicana, Leptonycteris yerbabuenae, Cryptotisparva soricina y Romerolagus diazi). Ten percent of the genera and one fourth of the species with distribution in this region are endemic to Mexico. Mammals present in the Milpa Alta Delegation have affinity to two biogeographic regions with different conservation priorities. The northern part, which is the most affected by human activities, includes the lowlands with xerophytic scrub vegetation. The southern area, the best preserved and with the highest species richness, includes the highlands with coniferous forest. This region should be considered a wildlife refuge and the focus for fauna conservation programs on the Federal District.

Keywords : annotated checklist; conservation; Federal District; mammals; Milpa Alta.

        · abstract in Spanish     · text in Spanish     · Spanish ( pdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License